Javascript must be enabled in your browser to use this page.
Please enable Javascript under your Tools menu in your browser.
Once javascript is enabled Click here to go back to �нтеллектуальная Кобринщина

Parliament. The Palace of Westminster.

Britain is administered from the Palace of Westminster in London. This is also known as the Houses of Parliament. Parliament is made up of two chambers — the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

The members of the House of Lords are not elected: they qualify to sit in the House because they are bishops of the Church of England, aristocrats who have inherited their seats from their fathers, people with titles. There has been talk of reform in this century because many Britons think that this system is undemocratic.

The House of Commons, by contrast, has 650 seats which are occupied by Members of Parliament (MPs) who are elected by the British public. The United Kingdom is divided into constituencies, each of which has an elected MP in the House of Commons.

Each of the major political parties appoints a representative (candidate) to compete for each seat. Smaller parties may have a candidate in only a few constituencies. There may be five or more parties, fighting for one seat, but only one person — the candidate who gets the greatest number of votes — can win.

Some parties win a lot of seats and some win very few, or none at all. The Queen, who is the Head of State, opens and closes Parliament. All new laws are debated (discussed) by MPs in the Commons, then debated in the Lords, and finally signed by the Queen.

All three are part of Parliament in Britain.


Парламент. Вестминстерский дворец.

Правительство Британии находится в Вестминстерском дворце в Лондоне. Вестминстерский дворец известен также как Дом парламента. Парламент состоит из двух палат — палаты общин и палаты лордов.

Членов палаты лордов не избирают: они являются членами парламента, потому что они — епископы английской церкви и аристократы, которые унаследовали свои места от отцов, титулованных особ. Идут разговоры о реформе этой системы в настоящем столетии, т. к. многие британцы не считают такую систему демократичной.

Палата общин, напротив, имеет 650 мест. Эти места занимаются членами парламента, избираемыми британским народом. Соединенное Королевство разделено на избирательные округа, каждый из которых имеет своего представителя (члена парламента) в палате общин.

Каждая из основных политических партий назначает представителя (кандидата), чтобы бороться за место в парламенте. Меньшие партии могут иметь кандидатов только лишь в нескольких округах. За одно место могут бороться пять и более партий, но победить может лишь один человек -- кандидат, получающий самое большое количество голосов.

Некоторые партии получают много мест, другие — совсем мало или вообще не получают. Королева, глава государства, открывает и закрывает парламент. Все законы обсуждаются членами палаты общин, затем — членами палаты лордов и, наконец, подписываются королевой.

Парламент в Британии составляют: королева, палата общин, палата лордов.



1. What is Parliament made up of?

2. Are the members of the House of Lords elected?

3. What do Britons think about this system?

4. Who appoints a representative to compete for each seat?

5. Who can win the seat?

6. Who is the Head of State?



to be made up of — состоять из

elected — избираемый

inherited — унаследованный

seat — место

constituency — избирательный округ

candidate — кандидат

vote — голосование, право голоса